My Pyramid
  • On 19th April 2005, U. S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) had announced a brand new “My Pyramid”. This new pyramid provides a new guidance on how to make nutritional recommendation into actual practice.

    “My Pyramid” is formed by six bands with different colours. Orange represents grains, green represents vegetables, red represents fruits, yellow represents oils, blue represents milk and purple represents meats and beans. It indicates we have to consume all these food varieties in order to get balanced nutrition. In addition, physical exercise is equally important to human body in supplement to healthy diet.
  • Grains
    • Consume at least 3 ounces of whole grain bread, cereal, crackers, rice or pasta product everyday
    • Look for the word “whole” before the grain name in the ingredient list
    • Consume more dark green vegetable
    • Consume more orange veggie
    • Consume different varieties of fruits
    • Choose fresh, frozen, canned, or dried fruit
    • Go easy on fruit juices
    • Make most of your fat sources from fish, nuts and vegetable oils
    • Limit solid fats like butter, stick margarine, shortening and lard
    • Go low-fat or fat-free product
    • If you do not or cannot consume milk, choose lactose-free products or other calcium sources
    Meats and Beans
    • Choose low-fat or lean meats and poultry
    • Bake it, broil it or grill it
    • Vary your choice with more fish, beans, peas, nuts and seeds

    Physical Exercise
    • Be physically active for at least 30 minutes in most days of the week
    • Children and teenagers should be physically active for 60 minutes every day
* The above information is adopted from